More States Extend Marriage Rights to Same Sex Couples

Posted December 11, 2013 Company News

Recently, Hawaii and Illinois have been added to the list of states that have passed legislation to extend marriage to same-sex couples. Oregon, a state that constitutionally bans same-sex marriage, has announced it will begin to recognize same-sex marriages legally performed in other jurisdictions. Back in October, New Jersey became the 14th state to recognize same-sex marriages when Governor Chris Christie dropped his appeal against same-sex marriages in the state. The list continues to grow.



State map on

Illinois Legislation

Hawaii Act




Please note that the information contained in this document is designed to provide authoritative and accurate information, in regard to the subject matter covered. However, it is not provided as legal or tax advice and no representation is made as to the sufficiency for your specific company’s needs. This document should be reviewed by your legal counsel or tax consultant before use.

Additionally, the messages and content within the Pittsburgh Health Care Reform group do not reflect the advisory services of Henderson Brothers, Inc.


Contributing EXPERT: Shari Herrle


To download the PDF version of this EXPERT UPDATE, please click on the link below: